University of Illinois Logo University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign University of Illinois Chicago University of Illinois Springfield
Home Search Help
N E S S I E   Home > Training and Development >  

Civil Service

Academic Professional



HR Forms
Human Resources

Employee Recognition and Professional Development

University Administration
Distinguished Employee Leadership and Team Award (DELTA)


Each year, the Distinguished Employee and Leadership Team Award (DELTA) selection committee, comprised of UA leaders along with four of the award winners from the previous years, meet to select new recipients. This award is designed to recognize individual employees and teams for their exceptional accomplishments, service and dedication to the University. Since the 2008 inauguration of the UA Distinguished Employee Leadership and Team Award (DELTA), 194 UA employees have been recognized as DELTA award recipients. Executives from University Administration make the presentations at the awards ceremony.

Individuals receiving awards will receive a glass trophy, certificate and one-time cash award of $1,500. Members of a team receiving the team award will also receive a glass trophy, certificate and equally share a one-time cash award at a maximum of $6,500, not to exceed $1,500 per person.

The number of individual and team awards is dependent upon the number of outstanding nominees and the budget available. All awards will not be granted unless there is a full slate of candidates that meet the DELTA award criteria. DELTA is awarded to Civil Service and Academic Professional employees. Recipients will be honored at an annual award event.


  • Recognize that the University Administration provides important contributions to the University.
  • Demonstrate that outstanding performance is recognized and nurtured at the University.
  • Encourage continued superior performance and leadership from employees.
  • Recognize that our short term may be challenging and that it will require innovation, continued dedication and strong performance of our employees to shape our future.

For More Details:

Please visit the DELTA Project Team Award and DELTA Individual Award pages for details on eligibility, nomination procedures, and nomination forms. Questions about the DELTA program can be directed to

2017 DELTA Awards: Submit a nomination online by December 12, 2016. The 2017 DELTA awards are given for work completed during the 2015-2016 academic year.

View the past DELTA Award recipients: 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008.

2016 DELTA Award Recipients

Please see the 2016 DELTA Recipients for further information.

Non - Supervisor Awards
Mark S. Anderson Shannon F. Dwyer
Tadi Kumar Kunal R. Shah

Supervisor Awards
Daniel Pelayo Arlene L. Shorter Mary White

Team Award
One ID/One Password Project Team
Stephen M. Barker Todd Bickers Cynthia Cobb
Deborah L. Coggins Jared M. Crowe Susan H. Flanagin
Daryl Fritchey Eric George Matthew Hansen Peter Herrig
Jun Huang Michael E. Keck Marla McKinney
Stacey Neil Mark E. Pollard Rod Schaefer
Patrick E. Schlehuber Michael Sharp Suzanne Elise Zelle
Butch Zunich Christina Vann

2015 DELTA Award Recipients

Please see the 2015 DELTA Recipients for further information.

Non - Supervisor Awards
Karen Deering Carla Kuzian
Debbie Peterson Elizabeth Schleef

Supervisor Awards
Marc Carlton Barb Welge

Team Award
UIC Purchasing iBuy Team
Mary Cooke Kevin Fair Rosemary Fowler
Liliana Gutierrez Julia Kilgore Aaron Rosenthal
Malgorzata Stanko Nicole Williams

2014 DELTA Award Recipients

Please see the 2014 DELTA Recipients for further information.

Non - Supervisor Awards
Ellie Burnette Kelsey McCoy William Seemann
Andrew Sestak Mikel D. Storm Joann Walker

Supervisor Awards
Jeff Weaver

Team Award
FOIA Process Consolidation Project - University Relations
Ginny Hudak-David Melanie Kuehn Kathleen McCarthy

2013 DELTA Award Recipients

Please see the 2013 DELTA Recipients for further information.

Kayci Bohlen Vicki Clements Kelvin Touchette

Laura Curtis Angela Foster Ron Miner

Office of Technology Management –
Share the Vision
Tracy Hunter Heather Jones Nicole Nair
Donna Wilm
University Student Financial Services & Cashier OperationsOffice of Technology Management –
Financial Literacy Bowl Project
Pamela Devitt Cesar Diaz Catalina Hernandez
Kathryn Kirrish Karen McFarlin John Palmatier
Earleen Peters Lindsay Peters JoDee Walsh

2012 DELTA Award Recipients

Civil Service
Lynn Spencer

Academic Professional
Amanda Akers Janet Ayers Kevin Fair
Kathy Sullivan Shih-Yu (Eddie) Tsai

University Payroll & Benefits –
Outreach Informational Sessions
Zac Becker Carole Devaney Susan Vergara
Annie Buford-Harris Gayle Dunahee Jennifer Steiling
Deanna Boyer Pamela Kennie
Brenda Butts Dennis Mark McGiles

2011 DELTA Award Recipients

Civil Service
Linda Oliveira

Academic Professional
Kim Britton Mary Malcolm Matt Wolfersberger
Kristine Campbell (Supervisor) Kathy Prouty

University Student Financial Services & Cashier Operations -
Customer Service Team
Natasha Bever Jami McCracken Joseph Shroyer
James Burgdorf Anabel Perez Shayla Strickland
David Greenleaf Tina Ramey Melody Wheeler
Dwane Hamby Alice Seaton

2010 DELTA Award Recipients

Further information on the individual and team award recipients.

Civil Service
Alex M. Esparza Jackie N. Huls Heidi L. Rockwood

Academic Professional
Delphine (Del) Kranz Beth Ladd Brent Rasmus

Electronic Fact Sheet Project Team
Stephanie J. Adams Russell K. Fletcher Denise M. Stanley
Jason Bane Ryan M. Hall Roger O. Wade
Madelle Becker Linda McCaffrey Jodi A. Wright
Chris Bland Richard Rebot
Sherri L. Faith Leslie Sherman

2009 DELTA Award Recipients

Civil Service
Cheryl Dodge Lisa Ferris Teresa Howard

Academic Professional
Michael Brewer Janice Kuntz Gill Kim Laczynski

UIUC Grants & Contracts - Post Award
Greg Anderson Jessi Katterhenry Brenda Roy
Denise Connour Paul Kerkhoff Justine Russian
Cale Doubet Brian Keyes Debra Short
Angela Douglas Peter Kogen Deb Stapp
Nancy Ellen Sarah Lorbiecki Allison Thilmony
Anne Francis Bruce Mast Karen Thomas
Joy Fuller Amy Morgan Hong Tian
Lori Garwick Sandy Moulton Kathy Vance
Jayne Goby Matt Murphy Janis Weaver
Dan Gordon Sadi O'Donnell Kelli Wendt
Linda Gregory Chris Patton Kay Williams
Jackie Harden Amy Roessler
Jialing He Tamara Roosevelt

2008 DELTA Award Recipients

Civil Service
Gary Watson Mary Nielsen Kathy Tuggle

Academic Professional
Sandra Street David Byers Connie Cleary

UIC Office of Grants and Contracts
Joseph Barbee Nida Khan Darryl Reynolds
Jamie Bates Mee Mee Lee-Choi Roberto Rodriguez
Etzer Cantave Fuller Lyons Edward Seighman
Rachelle Fox Alejandra Martinez Katina Shepherd
Julia Gomez Falehia Misleh-Paiz Lillie Shokunbi
LaShawnda Hall Richard Morfin Regina Smith
Zandra Harris Feryall Rahman Joseph Stefanich
Maureen Johnson Haydee Ramirez

Maintained by University Human Resources | Contact Information | Last Update: 20-October-2016 | ID: 3654